Embodied carbon and energy in Passive House constructions Aug. 4, 2021

iPHA Webinar, "Embodied carbon and energy in Passive House constructions" by Tim Martel, Developer of PHribbon and Benjamin Krick, Passive House Institute

In the first half of the webinar, Benjamin Krick explores how a life cycle assessment must be designed in order to obtain meaningful results in regards to the demand for manufacturing and operating energy. The Passive House Institute is currently working on this issue as part of the EU-funded project outPHit. Within the framework of the EN 15978 standard "Sustainability of buildings - Assessment of the environmental performance of buildings", this presentation provides a proposal on how different wall constructions can be compared with each other in this respect.

After that, Tim Martel presents on PHPP and his tool PHribbon. PHPP has a list of materials in the U-value tab and areas for thermal elements in the Areas tab. PHribbon combines these with CO2 figures from Environmental Product Declarations (EPDs) to calculate Embodied CO2. It also adds to this windows, PV, non-thermal elements such as roof finishes, internal walls, upper floors and services such as Air Source Heat Pumps (ASHP) and MVHRs. Tim will demonstrate how the process works within a new tab in the PHPP and also how PHribbon matches materials for the user to confirm. PHribbon is available for UK/Ireland, it will be available for the USA and Canada soon and potentially others.​​​​​​​

There are two sessions you may choose from:
Session 1: 9:00 AM Frankfurt / 8:00 AM London / 3:00 AM New York / 5:00 PM Sydney
Session 2: 6:00 PM Frankfurt / 5:00 PM London / 12:00 PM New York / 2:00 AM Sydney

This iPHA member webinar will last approximately 90 minutes and is worth 2 Passive House Continuous Education (CEPH) credit point.

The iPHA webinar series is a member benefit and free for all members.

NEW: Non-members can access the webinars for 30 EUR.

Not a member yet? Sign up and become a member and take advantage of the many benefits iPHA provides.

Registration for this webinar has ended. Find our upcoming events.

Aug. 4, 2021
Add to Calendar

Tickets

€30.00 incl. 19% VAT

The iPHA member ticket is available for members of the International Passive House Association only.

FREE